Some thoughts

by Björn Axén

I’m thinking that I maybe the verb’s potential optative ending -gh ought to be changes to -k so it closer corresponds to the conditional particle ak of zhâburi A.

I’m working on a description of the noun but of course my creativity is too great and I have started to questioning my old ideas of the case system. Both the number of cases and the actual endings. The old idea is that there ought to be quite few (oh well six) cases and that the endings are inspired by elvish. Now I’m starting to entertain the idea of more cases (maybe 13) which is closer to the number of cases in Hurrian. I’m also thinking that it is more appropriate to take inspiration from Hurrian for the endings.

When writing this I realize that I’m still leaning to the old system but I think that if the endings ought to resemble Elvish case endings I need a “constructive” analysis of the sound changes from Primitive Elvish to Quenya so that I can use the Quenya material to backtrack the hypothetical endings/postpositions of PE.

